nat's passport

current page: copenhagen, denmark

💃 finding movement in denmark

Published by

on

When I’ve had a rough week, or find it hard to sit still, dance has always been my #1 outlet. Growing up dancing and being on Brown’s hip hop team, I knew that dance was something I had to continue while in Copenhagen.

With some Google searches and TikTok browsing, I was able to discover a few dance studios in the city and attended my first open class during my second week here.

Stepping into the massive dance studio, I was immediately intimidated. Everyone else in the room embodied the classic “Copenhagen style” look (sleek hair, gold hoops), all seemingly well-acquainted with the space and each other.

The room was packed with at least 50 people. My movement was confined to a 2-foot radius, and as we danced, I took the occasional kick or hit. From the back of the room, I could only catch glimpses of our choreographer in the reflection, or an arm here or there.

After an hour and a half of learning and dancing, I was out of breath, exhausted, and truly in awe of the other dancers I had watched and danced with. Despite the challenge of the choreography, I had felt an amazing energy and presence from the other dancers, and it felt great to be united with local dancers via a common passion and experience.

Since then, I’ve taken several more classes throughout the semester, trying out different studios and encountering new instructors. Each class presents something new – an unexpected round of cyphers to start off the class, realizing I’ve seen my instructor in a music video, etc.

<insert gallery here of some dance videos!>

I’ve also found that despite learning new choreographies and improving as a dancer, I still feel a need to be a part of the local dance community, and establish a greater sense of belonging and connection…

Meanwhile, might I suggest some fun ways I’ve found to keep moving in Copenhagen:

  • Dance studios / classes
    • Some studios I’ve been to for hiphop classes: Copenhagen Dance Space, Hotstepperz, Gaardbodans. Unfortunately, classes here are quite pricey (usually around $15 per drop-in), but I’ve managed to take advantage of some free / discounted weeks!
    • Copenhagen Business School offers free dance classes.
  • Folkehuset Absalon
    • Absalon is a community center that offers more chill / community-focused dance sessions and yoga classes (at relatively low prices)
  • Gym memberships
    • Many Kollegiums have gyms nearby (Sats, Fitness X etc.), though not with the most amazingly affordable prices (~$40 a month, though I was able to get a discount that halved this prices).
    • I’m a big fan of taking the Group sessions/classes (e.g. cycling) at the gym, which are often instructed in English.

…Copenhagen has a vibrant array of artistic communities to offer, and I’m determined to go beyond the role of a mere visitor. My aspiration is to actively engage with the local dance scene and fully immerse myself in it, not as a passerby, but as a genuine participant. I know this requires me to venture more out of my comfort zone and proactively connecting with fellow dancers in the area. My journey to become a real part of Copenhagen’s dance community remains an ongoing goal, and I plan to keep sharing progress updates along the way!

Talk to you soon,

— Nat

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started