nat's passport

current page: copenhagen, denmark

🍂 the copenhagen soundscape

Published by

on

(transferred, in part, from my notebook)

It’s currently 2:31 pm on Saturday, November 18. Above is my current view – after seeing how nice the weather was today it was basically a must for me to step outside, considering how rainy and gloomy the past weeks have been.

I’m on a bench at Frederiksberg Have sitting across from the Frederiksberg Palace. I’m a little embarrassed sitting with my pen and paper as people walk past every so often – the park is filled with families, couples, people on runs – all enjoying this rare, sunny autumn day.

Around me, the sounds of Copenhagen fill the space. The grind of shoes on crispy leaves. The jingle of a dog leash. The wheels of baby strollers rolling over gravel – here in Denmark, it’s almost impossible not to catch baby fever. It might be because of how cute they are bundled up in their winter coats, or how free and happy they seem. What I would give to ride in one of those bike trailers, or to sleep in a stroller, or to have my entire life laid out for me, free education, healthcare, and all! Do you think Danish babies know how lucky they are?

I continue listening… the tick-tick-tick of bike wheels, the rustle of a can thrown into the trash, and of course, the soft, garbled sound of the Danish language as people pass by, engaged in lively, but polite, conversation. It seems Danes are rarely loud (albeit 2am on the Metro proves otherwise), keeping to themselves, not really drawing attention here. Even the dogs here are polite (too polite, if you ask me), lacking the usual intrusive sniff and bark one expects.

A quick glance at the locals’ fashion choices echoes this polite modesty. Danish style is simple, characterized by neutrals. Now wintertime, everyone is in their puffers, trench coats, and boots, in of course, either grey/black/brown/white. I feel neatly in place with my grey sweatpants and black uggs. Looking around, I savor the occasional pop of color: neon bright running shoes, an orange beanie, and look, lime green gloves!

Occasionally, I’ll pick up on conversations in other European languages – Spanish, French, and was that maybe Russian? Still, Copenhagen proves to be a little more homogenous in its cultures than other cities I’ve been in.

Sometimes I miss the grittiness of other cities’ soundscapes. I wouldn’t mind hearing a busker on the street (I’ve heard busking is illegal here), or even the honk of a car or a lively argument.

<end of notebook entry>

I put in my headphones and decide to wander a little farther into the park through shedding trees and duck-spotted streams. A few songs later, my path leads me to a crowd of people who seem to all be looking at something… my nosiness peers me over their shoulders… squinting my eyes… revealing slow-moving, gray giants…

Somehow, I’ve ended up at… the zoo? The park is right next to it, and apparently, has a section where it’s possible to see the elephant enclosure from, it seems, behind.

Copenhagen can be soothingly calm and quiet, neat and tidy, even annoyingly polite. I’m glad I can still surprise myself wandering through this city.

Talk to you soon,

— Nat

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started